案例分析 > JoyPac

JoyPac如何使用GameAnalytics评估在亚洲发行的游戏

自2018年以来,JoyPac在亚太地区发布了15款游戏,其中几款是热门游戏(中国iOS下载量最多的游戏前3名)。让我们来了解他们在亚太地区取得的成功,以及基于数据的评估过程。

JoyPac

挑战

2018年,当JoyPac开始着手成立基于数据的移动游戏发行商时,他们知道自己需要一种能够随着业务增长而扩展的分析工具,同时又不会显著提高成本。更重要的是,因为他们专注于中国和日本等亚太市场,所以他们意识到自己需要同时追踪东方和西方的玩家,并做到准确无误。

解决方案

如今,JoyPac使用GameAnalytics去评估他们所发行的所有游戏。他们首先要求开发者将GameAnalytics SDK集成到自己的游戏中。然后,他们会分析这些数据,进一步了解不同玩家的行为,并根据总部位于北京的运营团队对游戏做出的调整,清楚地了解什么是可行的,什么是不可行的。

有趣的事实

关于我们 JoyPac

早在2018年,亚太地区游戏发行专业公司JoyPac便带着明确的使命进入市场,即帮助游戏开发者更轻松地在新领域获得成功,并通过触达更多玩家而提高收益。自成立以来,他们便带着这个目标,一直孜孜不倦地努力完善自己的战略,为合作伙伴优化发行流程。他们现在已经开始取得一些惊人的成绩。

在成立不到一年的时间里,JoyPac发行了18款游戏,在2019年初,他们最早推出的一款游戏进入了中国iOS下载量前3名。他们表示,他们之所以成功是因为对高质量超休闲游戏异常专注,以及使用GameAnalytics基于数据的评估流程。这帮助了他们在东方市场能够找到获得成功的最佳新游戏。

JoyPac的部分热门游戏

Skip School

Skip School

在中国超过500万次的下载量
发布日期:2018年10月

Fluffy Fall

Fluffy Fall

在中国超过65万次的下载量
发布日期:2019年2月

Master of Repair

Master of Repair

在中国超过42.5万次的下载量
发布日期:2019年3月

Super Evasion 3

Super Evasion 3

超过170万次的下载量
发布日期:2018年10月

Chicken Farm

Chicken Farm

在中国超过16.5万次的下载量
发布日期:2019年2月

Non-Stop Space Defense

Non-Stop Space Defense

2019年4月推出
准备战斗!

JoyPac在7个月内发行了18款成功的移动游戏,这证明了超休闲游戏能在亚洲大展身手。

JoyPac的创始团队拥有数十年在全球(包括亚洲)发行移动游戏的经验。他们对于大多数西方游戏开发者在尝试进入这些市场时所面临的陷阱有着第一手的了解。这也是为什么JoyPac建立在坚定信念之上,即提高透明度,让沟通更清晰明确,并与想要打入亚洲市场的游戏开发者建立紧密合作关系。GameAnalytics帮助JoyPac实现了这一承诺——能够不受限制地访问全球业绩数据,让他们的合作伙伴可以免费分析并优化自己的数据。

JoyPac的西方团队位于哥本哈根,这帮助他们解决了许多开发者在与亚太地区发行合作伙伴打交道时经常遇到的问题。他们的东部办公室位于北京,当地有一支游戏设计、用户获取和盈利方面的专家团队,他们努力将JoyPac的合作作品本地化。在这种环境下,JoyPac拥有许多独特的优势,包括更近的时区,更少的文化差异,以及更有效的交流——不管是在合作谈判中还是在任何实的游戏实时优化中。

他们已经在中国发行了一系列热门游戏,包括《Skip School》、《Radish Girl》、《Master of War》,以及他们最成功的游戏之一《Fluffy Fall》,该游戏由总部位于巴黎的What(Games)发行,由Kilosaurs的天才开发者创作。

《Fluffy Fall》最初是在西方制作的,2017年在那里大受欢迎,但有趣的是,它最初在亚洲并不成功。然而,JoyPac看到了游戏整体设计和风格的潜力。在更仔细地评估了指标和机遇后,JoyPac与What Games展开了合作。JoyPac对游戏进行了本土化和文化上的调整,同时接入了GameAnalytics,这是推动游戏进一步发展的关键元素。自《Fluffy Fall》以《绒球历险记 》的名字登陆中国市场以来,该游戏仅在中国就获得了超过70万次的下载量。

这并不是说在中国发行游戏的过程很简单——远非如此。JoyPac必须克服重重障碍才能在中国成功发行一款游戏……

在中国最大的挑战

在亚洲任何地方发行游戏都很困难,但要在中国成功发行游戏更是难上加难。中国存在许多文化和法律差异,你必须考虑到这些差异才能让你的游戏获得关注,更别说获得成功了。

在与JoyPac讨论这一问题时,他们强调了在中国发行每款新游戏时经常面临的一些主要挑战。

  1. 政府授权——中国政府最近采取了封锁措施,阻挡了许多新游戏获得授权。
  2. 文化敏感性——中国的审查制度与许多其他国家有很大的不同,特别是涉及到暴力的时候。
  3. 出版许可证——只有拥有相应商业许可证的中国实体组织才可以申请其中一种出版许可证,所以有合作伙伴关系是关键。
  4. 知识产权保护——盗版游戏是一个大问题,但合作公司应该知道你作为游戏开发者的权利,并对中国的知识产权法有很好的了解。
  5. 分散的应用商店——在中国,安卓市场非常零散,所以开发者需要迎合10几个应用商店的需求才能接触到绝大多数的玩家。
  6. 政策变化——出于对IAP成本和玩游戏时间的担忧,中国政府经常更新法规来管理赚玩家钱的方式。

这些都是游戏开发者在中国发行游戏时可能会遇到的一些常见且棘手的问题。这些挑战启发了像JoyPac等发行商去组建跨文化团队,去更有效地弥合东西方之间的鸿沟。

面对所有这些挑战,再加上竞争日益激烈的游戏市场所带来的压力,GameAnalytics对于JoyPac游戏的成功至关重要。他们在亚太地区的专业知识,并基于重视关键指标和KPI的数据应用方式,使得JoyPac和他们的合作伙伴都有更大的机会在东方市场取得成功。

JoyPac团队致词……

JoyPac团队的专业能力就如同他们的坐标一样多样化。这也是我们联系JoyPac以了解GameAnalytics是如何帮到他们的原因。我们采访了许多领域的专家——从设计到推广再到发行(从东方到西方),从而了解了更多关于GameAnalytics如何帮助他们完成日常工作的信息。

还不确定? 那就听听资深人士怎么说

Case Studies > JoyPac

How JoyPac uses GameAnalytics to evaluate games for publishing in Asia

Since 2018, JoyPac has released 15 games in APAC, several of which were hits (top 3 in the most downloaded games on iOS in China). Learn about their success in the East, and the data-driven evaluation process the fuels it.

JoyPac

Challenge

When JoyPac first set out to build a data-driven mobile games publisher in 2018 they knew they needed an analytics tool that could scale as the business grew, without significantly driving up costs. More importantly, because they specialize in APAC markets like China and Japan, they were conscious that they’d need to to track players in both the East and the West, and do it accurately.

Solution

Today JoyPac uses GameAnalytics to evaluate all of the games they publish. They start by asking developers to integrate one of the GameAnalytics SDKs into their games. They then analyze this data to learn more about the behavior of different players, and get a clear picture of what is and isn’t working, usually based on the changes that their Beijing-based ops teams make to the game.

Interesting facts

About JoyPac

Back in 2018, APAC games publishing specialist, JoyPac, entered the market with a clear mission to make it as easy as possible for game developers to find success in new territories and increase their yield by reaching more players than ever before. Since forming with this goal, they’ve worked tirelessly to perfect their strategy and optimize the distribution process for their partners. They’re now beginning to see some amazing results.

Within less than a year of forming, JoyPac released more than 18 games – and in early 2019 one of their very first titles reached the top 3 most downloaded games on iOS in China. They claim that their “success is the result of an uncompromising focus on high-quality hyper-casual titles, combined with a data-driven evaluation process using GameAnalytics. This helps them identify the best new releases primed for success in the East.”

A few of JoyPac's hit games

Skip School

Skip School

5 million downloads in China
Released: Oct 2018

Fluffy Fall

Fluffy Fall

650,000 downloads in China
Released: Feb 2019

Master of Repair

Master of Repair

425,000 downloads in China
Released: Mar 2019

Super Evasion 3

Super Evasion 3

1.7 million downloads
Released: Oct 2018

Chicken Farm

Chicken Farm

165,000 downloads in China
Released: Feb 2019

Non-Stop Space Defense

Non-Stop Space Defense

Launching April 2019
Get ready for battle!

Having released 18 successful mobile games in a 7 month period, JoyPac is proving that hyper-casual titles can make it big in Asia.

The founding team at JoyPac has decades of experience releasing mobile games across the globe, including throughout Asia. They have first-hand knowledge of the pitfalls that most Western game developers face when trying to break into these markets. That’s why JoyPac was founded on a strong belief of improving transparency, clear communication, and building close partnerships with game developers looking to break into Asia. GameAnalytics helps JoyPac deliver on that promise with uncapped access to global performance data, giving their partners the ability to analyze and optimize their stats – for free.

JoyPac’s Western team is based in Copenhagen, which helps them address a lot of the problems that developers often encounter when dealing with publishing partners based in APAC. Their Eastern office is located in Beijing, where a team of local experts in game design, user acquisition, and monetization work hard to localize JoyPac’s portfolio of partner titles. With this setup, JoyPac has many unique advantages, including closer time zones, less of a cultural divide, and as a result more efficient communication – both during partnership negotiations and with any ongoing live-game optimization.

They’ve now released a string of hit titles in China, including Skip School, Radish Girl, Master of War, and one of their most successful releases, Fluffy Fall, published by the Paris-based What(Games) and created by the talented developers at Kilosaurus.

Fluffy Fall was first produced in the West and became quite the hit there in 2017, but interestingly it wasn’t as successful in Asia initially. However, JoyPac saw potential in the overall design and style of the game. After more closely evaluating the metrics and the opportunity, JoyPac and What Games went into a collaboration. JoyPac localized and culturally appropriated the game, simultaneously integrating GameAnalytics, which is now a key component in growing the game further. Since launching in China as 绒球历险记 (meaning roughly Pom Pom Adventures), Fluffy Fall has seen more than 700,000 downloads in China alone.

This isn’t to say that the process of launching games in China is easy – far from it. JoyPac has to navigate many hurdles to get a game successfully published in China…

The Great Wall of Challenges

Launching games anywhere in Asia can be tough, but doing so successfully in China is even more difficult. China has many cultural and legislative differences that must be considered for your game to even be seen, let alone successful.

When discussing this with JoyPac, they highlighted some of the main challenges that they often face when launching each new title in China.

  1. Government licensing – The Chinese government recently imposed a blockade, preventing licenses being accepted for many new games.
  2. Cultural sensitivity – Censorship laws in China are considerably different to many other countries, particularly when it comes to violence.
  3. Publication licenses – Only a Chinese entity with the appropriate commercial license is allowed to apply for one of these, so a partnership is key.
  4. IP theft protection – Copycat games are a big issue, but a partner company should know your rights as a game developer, and have a good understanding of China’s IP law.
  5. Fragmented app stores – In China, the Android market is fragmented, so developers need to cater to well over a dozen app stores in order to reach the vast majority of players.
  6. Changing legislation – Due to concerns about IAP costs and time spent playing games, the Chinese government often updates regulation to govern the way players can be monetized.

For more info, have a read of this article – JoyPac’s key things to note when launching games in China

These are just a few common but frustrating issues that game developers are likely to face when trying to launch in China. They’re challenges that have inspired publishers like JoyPac to build cross-cultural teams, effectively bridging the gap between West and East.

With all of these challenges present, plus the added pressure of an ever more competitive gaming market, analytics plays a vital role for the success of JoyPac’s games. Their expertise in APAC, combined with a data-focused approach that respects key metrics and KPI’s, means that both JoyPac and their partners have a much higher chance of finding success when tackling the East.

Some words from the JoyPac team…

JoyPac’s team is as diverse in expertise as it is in location. That’s why we reached out to several of their employees to learn how GameAnalytics helps them in specific ways. We talked to experts in many fields – from design, to advertising to publishing (based East to West), to learn more about how GameAnalytics helps them with their day-to-day roles.

Still not convinced?
Hear it from the best

Announcing HyperBid 🎉

New mediation platform. Built for games.

Sign up to get free access to GameAnalytics premium products.