案例分析 > Voodoo

Voodoo如何通过GameAnalytics来发现数百款热门游戏

了解GameAnalytics如何帮助Voodoo获得关于游戏早期阶段的预测性见解,并基于数据收集关键反馈。

Voodoo

挑战

即使对于最有天赋的游戏开发者来说,将一款游戏从最初构思,到原型设计,再到成功发行都是一项艰巨的任务。可以说,这在超休闲游戏领域更是如此,尤其是当你考虑到这类游戏的寿命很短时。对于像Voodoo这样的发行商来说,使用程序化数据来确定最有潜力的游戏产品是他们长期成功的关键。

解决方案

Voodoo使用GameAnalytics指标API轻松追踪并分析数千款试营运游戏的KPI。通过指标API,我们可以在他们自己的内部系统中快速获得他们所有合作伙伴的数据,这样他们就可以从每个月向他们推荐的数百款不同游戏中选出最有前途的新游戏。他们通常会根据核心成功指标来进行评估,比如D1和D7用户留存率。

有趣的事实

关于我们 Voodoo

如果你在过去几年里关注过移动游戏,你就会注意到市场中一些有趣的变化。其中最常被提及的是“超休闲”类型的出现,这是一种可以免费玩的移动游戏,通常制作周期很短,用简单的核心循环来让玩家快速进入游戏内容,并主要通过广告盈利。

在短短几年内,Voodoo发布了一系列超休闲类型的热门游戏。自2016年以来,他们发行了超过15款游戏,并进入了App Store排行榜的前20名。事实上,他们几乎是一炮走红,“Voodoo”这个名字基本上已经成为超休闲类型的代名词。显然,他们高效、基于数据的策略非常有效,让他们大获成功。

Voodoo的部分辉煌时刻

 Paper.io

Paper.io

超过6000万次的下载量
发布日期:2016年12月

Snake VS Block

Snake VS Block

超过1.77亿次的下载量
发布日期:2017年5月

Dune!

Dune!

超过5500万次的下载量
发布日期:2017年10月

Rolly Vortex

Rolly Vortex

超过5500万次的下载量
发布日期:2017年8月

Helix Jump

Helix Jump

超过4.52亿次的下载量
发布日期:2018年2月

Hole.io

Hole.io

超过1.77亿次的下载量
发布日期:2018年5月

高居榜首

Voodoo首席执行官亚历山大·亚兹迪在全球游戏开发者大会伦敦站表示,Voodoo游戏的下载量有望在2018年达到10亿次。而事实上,截至2020年,Voodoo游戏的下载量已经超过40亿次。亚兹迪评论道:“Voodoo的发展与其说是一个秘密,不如说是一种思维模式……一种工作方式。”下面我们就来看看这家游戏发行商是如何将这种思维模式转化为爆款游戏的。

Voodoo的起源

Voodoo最初是一个小型团队,开发并发行自己的游戏。他们并没有立即获得成功,虽然最初尝试将作品《Bool》和《Quiz Run》推向市场遭遇失败,但开启了他们完善移动游戏用户获取和发行的旅程。在优化了用户获取和盈利方法后,Voodoo开发并发布了榜首作品,Paper.io,这部作品在2016年成为他们的首款热门游戏。

开发者应该专注于开发全球玩家都想玩的游戏,而不仅仅是他们自己感兴趣的内容。

Voodoo的发行专家雨果•佩龙在谈到进军游戏发行领域时表示,“我们不断发展和优化用户获取层面的方法论,以此来从玩家身上获得最大价值,而这只是为了生存。”在2017年的这次采访中,你可以了解更多关于Voodoo早期的信息

最早发布的几款游戏教给了Voodoo两件事。首先,最成功的发行商需要游戏营销中多个领域的实践经验。其次,如果他们真的想充分利用自己的用户获取和盈利方面的知识,他们就应该将这些知识应用到更多游戏中,而不仅仅是自己的游戏。

向发行转变

Voodoo决定转移自己的工作重心,并将他们的经验应用到更广泛的市场,利用自己的技能在任何给定时间发行多款游戏。为了快速扩大规模,他们编写了一个脚本来提取Google Play商店的数据,让他们能够快速收集几千家工作室的详细信息用于推广活动。

这种高效的方法,结合使用GameAnalytics的数据收集和分析,帮助Voodoo确定了一款名为《Fight List》的新游戏(主要基于D1和D7 KPI)。它在App Store上迅速成为热门游戏,在40多个国家登顶榜首。这里的关键要点是:Voodoo的发行策略简化了开发和评估过程,同时将发行多款游戏的商业风险最小化。

识别核心潜力点

当预测一款游戏是否会成功时,仅仅玩一下游戏是远远不够的。数据是发现最具潜力游戏的关键,Voodoo使用GameAnalytics在任何给定的时间通过用户级访问多个工作室来评估这些数据。他们使用的KPI非常灵活,着眼于D1/D7留存率,游戏时长和CPI(单次安装成本)。

对我们来说,GameAnalytics提供的一个关键好处是,我们可以深入了解工作室合作伙伴的留存率。我们尽可能寻找留存率高的游戏。如果一款游戏的留存率很低,我们是不会让它存在的。

Voodoo现在已经成为世界上慧眼识才并帮助人才成长的领导者,使用GameAnalytics查看关键KPI(甚至游戏错误日志)。

追踪整个产品周期

当一款游戏发行后,GameAnalytics仍然会负责持续优化和追踪几乎所有Voodoo游戏的表现。通过指标API, Voodoo可以追踪整个周期中所有重要的健康指标。

与此同时,产品经理、游戏设计师甚至是合作开发者也会协力合作,将GameAnalytics作为一种方式来定期监测并优化他们所选择发行的每一款游戏的生命周期。

Voodoo致词

“在Voodoo,我们每个月都会评估多款原型和游戏。通过GameAnalytics收集的数据,我们能够帮助合作伙伴掌握未来趋势、明确创作原则、开发功能提高留存率,以及形成独特的创意过程。”

“作为发行商的一大好处便是能够看到如何对开发者的游戏进行优化,从而对他们的成功产生巨大影响。通过许多不同的GameAnalytics SDK和指标API,我们可以与合作伙伴在认知和反馈上做到同步,同时简化咨询过程。事实证明,利用数据做出判断和明智的决定对我们的成功至关重要。”

还不确定? 那就听听资深人士怎么说

Case Studies > Voodoo

How Voodoo identifies hundreds of hit titles with GameAnalytics

Learn how GameAnalytics helps Voodoo get predictive insights about early-phase games and gather crucial feedback based on data.

Voodoo

Challenge

Taking a game from an initial idea, through prototyping and on to a successful launch is a difficult task for even the most talented of game developers. Arguably, this is even truer in the hyper-casual space, particularly when you consider the short lifespans of these types of games. For publishers like Voodoo, using programmatic data to identify titles with the best potential is key to their continued success.

Solution

Voodoo uses the GameAnalytics Metrics API to easily track and analyze KPIs across thousands of soft launch titles. With the Metrics API we make all of their partner data quickly available in their own internal systems, so they can shortlist the most promising new titles from hundreds of different games pitched to them each month. They’ll usually evaluate by reviewing core success indicators, such as D1 and D7 retention.

Interesting facts

About Voodoo

If you’ve paid any attention to the mobile gaming landscape over the past few years, you’ll have noticed some interesting shifts in the market. One of the most talked-about is the emergence of the “hyper-casual” genre, a category of free to play mobile games which are typically quick to produce, played in short sessions with simple core loops, and primarily monetized with ads.

In just a few short years, Voodoo has released a string of hyper-casual hits. Since 2016, they’ve published more than 15 games which have reached the top 20 in the App Store charts. In fact, they’ve had such a meteoric rise to success that the name ‘Voodoo’ has almost become synonymous with the hyper-casual genre itself. Clearly, their efficient, data-driven strategy is working and fueling their success.

Just a few of Voodoo's highlights

 Paper.io

Paper.io

60+ million downloads
Released: Dec 2016

Snake VS Block

Snake VS Block

177+ million downloads
Released: May 2017

Dune!

Dune!

55+ million downloads
Released: Oct 2017

Rolly Vortex

Rolly Vortex

55+ million downloads
Released: Aug 2017

Helix Jump

Helix Jump

452+ million downloads
Released: Feb 2018

Hole.io

Hole.io

177+ million downloads
Released: May 2018

Topping the charts

Speaking at Casual Connect Europe in London, CEO Alexandre Yazdi said that Voodoo was on track to reach 1 billion downloads for its games in 2018. In fact, as of 2020, Voodoo games have now been downloaded more than 4 billion times. Yazdi commented that “the Voodoo process is less of a secret and more of a mindset… a way of working.” Here’s a look at how this has translated to some of the publisher’s most popular titles.

Where it all began

Voodoo started as a small team developing and releasing their own games. They weren’t immediately successful, and what originally began as a failed attempt to bring their titles Bool and Quiz Run to market set in motion their journey of honing mobile games UA and publishing. After optimizing their approach to UA and monetization, Voodoo developed and published the chart-topper Paper.io, which became their first major hit in 2016.

Developers should focus on building games that people around the globe want to play, not just what appeals to them personally.

Speaking on the topic of breaking into games publishing, Hugo Peyron, Publishing Expert at Voodoo, says “it was a case of developing and fine-tuning their knowledge of user acquisition to get the most value from their players, simply in order to survive”. You can find out more about the early days of Voodoo in this interview from 2017.

These first few releases taught Voodoo two things. Firstly, the most successful publishers need practical experience in many areas of game marketing. Secondly, if they really wanted to make the most of their knowledge of user acquisition and monetization, they would have to apply this to more titles than just their own.

A shift to publishing

Voodoo decided to shift their efforts and apply what they’d learned to the wider market, leveraging their skill set to launch several games at any given time. In order to scale quickly, they wrote a script to scrape the Google Play store, allowing them to quickly compile the details of thousands of studios for outreach campaigns.

This efficient approach, combined with data collection and analysis using GameAnalytics, helped Voodoo to identify a new game called Fight List (based largely on its promising D1 and D7 KPIs). It quickly became a hit on the App Stores, reaching #1 position in more than 40 countries. The key takeaway here: Voodoo’s publishing strategy streamlines the development and review process, while minimizing the commercial risk of launching several titles.

Identifying core potential

When it comes to predicting the success of a title, simply playing the game is rarely enough. Data is key for recognizing the games with the greatest potential, and Voodoo reviews this data with user-level access to multiple studios at any given time via GameAnalytics. They work with very flexible KPIs, looking at D1/D7 retention, playtime and CPI.

For us, a key benefit GameAnalytics offers is insights into the retention of studio partners. We look for the highest numbers possible. If a game has low retention, we will kill it.

Voodoo has now become a world leader at finding and refining diamonds in the rough, using GameAnalytics to see critical KPIs (and even game error logs).

Tracking an entire portfolio

Once a game has been released, GameAnalytics still plays a role in ongoing optimizations and tracking performance for pretty much all Voodoo titles. With the Metrics API, Voodoo is able to track all important health metrics across their entire portfolio.

At the same time, product managers, game designers, and even partner developers work together, using GameAnalytics as a way to regularly monitor and optimize the lifecycle of each and every game they have chosen to publish.

A word from Voodoo

“At Voodoo, we review a lot of prototypes and games each month. Thanks to the data collected with GameAnalytics, we’re able to help our partners with upcoming trends, clear creation guidelines, features to increase retention, and a unique ideation process.”

“One of the great perks of working as a publisher is seeing how the titles of enthusiastic developers can be optimized to make a huge impact on their success. With the many different GameAnalytics SDKs and the Metrics API, we can synchronize insights and feedback with our partners and streamline the consultancy process. Using data to make judgments and informed decisions have proved critical to our success.”

Still not convinced?
Hear it from the best