GameAnalytics如何助力Voodoo每月推出爆款游戏

alt

玩家

10亿

员工

120

平台

iOS & Android

挑战

即便是最成熟的游戏工作室,将一款游戏从最初的概念做出雏形,再到发布游戏、获得经济上的成功,这都是一项艰巨的任务。而对于做超休闲游戏的工作室和开发者来说,这项任务更具挑战性,尤其还要考虑到超休闲游戏的生命周期较短。但像Voodoo这样的游戏发布商,他们选择利用数据分析来发掘最具潜力的游戏、优化游戏的核心玩法循环——这成为他们取得持续成功的关键助推力。

解决方案

Voodoo使用GameAnalytics获得有关游戏早期阶段的预测性洞察,通过考察诸如第1日和第7日留存率等关键绩效指标,Voodoo能够迅速在每月数百款游戏的候选名单中,迅速发掘最有潜力的游戏。此外,GameAnalytics还帮助Voodoo收集基于数据的重要反馈,以便他们可以同合作伙伴协商并提供可操作的建议,以不断改进他们发行的每款游戏的核心数据指标和玩法。

关于Voodoo

如果你有留意过去几年移动游戏领域的发展,你会发现应用商店中的热门类型发生了一些有趣的变化。其中,最受关注的一个趋势就是“超休闲”游戏的出现,这是一类通常来说研发周期短、玩法简单、玩家即玩即走的免费手机游戏,主要通过广告来变现。

短短几年内, Voodoo 发布了一系列超休闲类型的爆款游戏。 自2016年以来,他们已经发布了超过15款在App Store排行榜上位于前20名的游戏,Voodoo的崛起速度快、势头猛,以至于工作室名称“Voodoo”几乎已经成为超休闲类游戏本身的代名词。显然,一套高效敏捷、数据驱动的战略,正在助力Voodoo持续取得成功。

各个榜单悉数上榜

Voodoo的首席执行官亚历山大·亚兹迪(Alexandre Yazdi),曾在伦敦的Casual Connect Europe上表示 Voodoo的游戏下载量有望在2018年达到10亿次。他还说,Voodoo的进化发展与其说是一个秘密,不如说是“一种思维和工作方式”。接下来一起看看这种“思维和工作方式”是如何催生出Voodoo旗下一些爆款游戏的。

Voodoo旗下部分爆款游戏

alt

Paper.io

下载量超2000万

发行时间:2016年12月

Voodoo最早的爆款游戏之一,一款凭借迷人的UI和直观的玩法而仍广受欢迎的即玩即走的游戏。

alt

Snake VS Block

下载量超8700万

发行时间:2017年5月

将两款经典游戏合二为一,融合为独特的玩法机制,Snake VS Block是创造性思维的优秀范本。

alt

Dune!

下载量超5600万

发行时间:2017年10月

经典玩法形式的视觉化再造,考验玩家对时机把握,界面图形设计得时尚新潮,玩法让人感觉到满满活力。

alt

Rolly Vortex

下载量超4400万

发行时间:2017年8月

玩家控制小球经过快速滚动来克服障碍物,获得更高的积分挑战排行榜。这款游戏巧妙地融入了升级等进展机制。

alt

Helix Jump

下载量超3.1亿

发行时间:2018年2月

超休闲游戏类型史上最成功的游戏之一。弹跳球的玩法听起来很简单,但要掌握这个游戏的精髓还是很难。

alt

Hole.io

下载量超4000万

发行时间:2018年5月

吃掉路上的一切东西,把你的黑洞变大,杀掉对手——这款游戏为玩家提供了深度的满足感。

*以上信息基于App Annie 2017.11—2018.11期间的数据。

Voodoo的“发家史”

实际上,Voodoo起初是一个发行自研游戏的小团队,一开始的尝试是将Bool和Quiz Run这两款游戏推向市场,这次尝试以失败告终,但却开启了一场Voodoo持续打磨自己移动游戏发行技能的旅程。吸取教训后,他们竭力优化获客和变现策略,并将这套方法论运用到2016年Paper.io的发行上,因此成就了他们的第一个爆款游戏。

alt
Paper.io:Voodoo推出的第一个爆款游戏,于2016年发行,已累积超过2000万次下载。
开发者应该专注于开发全球玩家想玩的游戏,而不是从自身出发做自己想玩的游戏。

在谈到进入游戏发行领域时,Voodoo的发行专家Hugo Peyron说:“为了求得生存,开发者不断积累和调整他们关于用户获取、用户价值变现的认知, 就是这么一回事”。你可以通过我们2017年的采访,了解有关Voodoo早期的更多信息。

早期的几次发行经验教给Voodoo两件事:首先,最成功的发行商需要在游戏营销的多个领域有实践经验;其次,如果真的想充分利用他们关于用户获取和变现的知识积累,他们就必须将这套方法论应用于更多的游戏,而不仅仅局限于他们自己研发的游戏。

切换到发行的赛道

Voodoo决定转换他们的努力方向,将他们积累的经验应用于更广阔的市场,实现以他们的发行能力在任何时候都能推出几款游戏。为了快速实现规模化,他们编写了一个指令来扫描Google Play商店,从而快速编制数千个游戏工作室的详细信息,以展开接洽工作。

alt
Voodoo 2017年推出的部分爆款游戏(从左至右):Snake VS Block,Stack Jump,Rolly Vortex

这一方法行之有效,加上GameAnalytics数据收集和分析功能的帮助,Voodoo甄选出一款名为Fight List的新游戏(主要基于其第1日和第7日关键绩效指标显示出的不俗潜力),它迅速成为App Store的热门游戏,登顶40多个国家的排名榜。由此得出的关键经验是:Voodoo在选取游戏时,简化了游戏开发和审核流程,同时最大限度地降低了推出多个游戏的商业风险。

识别核心潜力

在预测一款游戏有无成功前景时,简单的试玩一下是显然不够的。数据在甄别最具潜力的游戏的过程中,扮演了重要角色。Voodoo通过GameAnalytics查看相关数据,如随时随地查看多家工作室的一般数据表现,通常他们会找出第1日留存率在50%及以上的游戏。

对我们来说,GameAnalytics给我们的一个重要帮助就是提供合作工作室的留存率洞察,我们在寻找尽可能高的留存率数字。如果一款游戏的留存率不理想,我们会砍掉它。

大约在20款游戏中,会有19款低留存率的游戏被搁置,Voodoo会联系那些有优异数据表现和优秀玩法概念的游戏工作室,并帮助他们改善核心玩法元素。现在Voodoo是“浪里淘沙”的一把好手,通过使用GameAnalytics查看关键数据指标(甚至是游戏错误日志),Voodoo已成为全球最精于寻找和优化潜力型游戏的发行商。

追踪全部产品表现

游戏上线后,GameAnalytics仍会为整个Voodoo团队提供进程追踪服务。Voodoo通过 GameAnalytics Rest API 完成自定义集成后,GameAnalytics平台将收取数据并呈现到Voodoo专有的数据仪表板上。

alt
Voodoo推出的更多在榜单名列前茅的热门游戏(从左至右):Knock Balls,Paper.io,TwistyRoad

在GameAnalytics这个平台上,产品经理、游戏设计师、甚至合作开发者轻松实现协同,一起定期监测和优化团队整个产品矩阵中每款游戏的生命周期。

Voodoo怎么说?

“在Voodoo,我们每个月都会审核数百款游戏,感谢GameAnalytics收集的数据,让我们能够了解到即将到来的趋势、明晰的游戏开发指南、增加留存率的功能及独特的构思过程,从而能够帮助到我们的合作伙伴。”

“从事发行工作的一个迷人之处,就是可以看到那些富有热情的开发者研发出的游戏,如何在优化后为他们带来巨大成功。通过许多不同的GameAnalytics SDK和自定义API集成到我们自己的平台,我们可以将行业洞察和反馈意见同步给合作伙伴,简化问询流程。利用数据做出判断和明智的决策,这对我们的成功至关重要。“

alt

Hugo Peyron

游戏发行专家 | VOODOO

Follow us here

How GameAnalytics helps Voodoo identify and release hit mobile games each month

SOFTGAMES office

Players

1+ billion

Employees

120

Platform

iOS & Android

Challenge

Taking a game from initial conception, through prototype phases and on to a financially successful launch is a difficult task for even the most established of games studios. It’s even more challenging for those in the hyper-casual space, especially when you consider the short lifespans of these types of mobile games. For publishers like Voodoo, using data to identify titles with the best potential, as well as optimize core gameplay loops, is key to their continued success.

Solution

Voodoo uses GameAnalytics to get predictive insights about early-phase games. They’re able to quickly shortlist the most promising new titles from hundreds of different games pitched to them each month by reviewing KPIs like D1 and D7 retention. What’s more, GameAnalytics helps Voodoo gather crucial feedback based on data, so that they can consult with their partners and give actionable advice to improve the core metrics and gameplay in each title that they work on.

About Voodoo

If you’ve paid any attention to the mobile gaming landscape over the past few years, you’ll have noticed some interesting shifts in the definitions of popular genres on the App Stores. Of these, one of the most talked about is the emergence of “hyper”-casual, a category of free to play mobile games which are typically quick to produce, played in short sessions with simple core loops, and primarily monetized with ads.

In just a few short years, Voodoo has released a string of hyper-casual hits. They’ve published more than 15 games which have reached the top 20 in the App Store charts since 2016, and seen such a meteoric rise to success that the studio name ‘Voodoo’ has almost become synonymous with the hyper-casual genre itself. Clearly their efficient, data driven strategy is working and fueling their success.

Topping all the charts

Speaking at Casual Connect Europe in London, CEO Alexandre Yazdi said that Voodoo was on track to reach 1 billion downloads for its games in 2018. He also commented that the Voodoo process is less of a secret and more of a “…mind-set, and a way of working.” Here’s a look at how this has translated to some of the publisher’s most popular titles.

Just a few of Voodoo’s notable hits

paper.io-icon

Paper.io

20+ million downloads

Released: Dec 2016

One of Voodoo’s first major successes. An instantly playable title that’s still popular for its charming UI and intuitive gameplay.

snake-vs-block-icon

Snake VS Block

87+ million downloads

Released: May 2017

Blending two iconic games to create a new and unique mechanic. Snake VS Block is a great example of outside the box thinking.

dune-icon

Dune!

56+ million downloads

Released: Oct 2017

A visual reworking of a classic format. Dune! demands expert timing, but offers sleek graphics and energetic gameplay.

rolly-vortex-icon

Rolly Vortex

44+ million downloads

Released: Aug 2017

Maneuver a ball through obstacles within a vortex. This game cleverly brings into play progression mechanics like levelling up.

helix-jump-icon

Helix Jump

310+ million downloads

Released: Feb 2018

One of the biggest hyper-casual hits of all time. Bouncing a ball sounds simple enough, but it’s a tricky game to master.

hole.io-icon

Hole.io

40+ million downloads

Released: May 2018

Swallow everything in your path, grow your hole, and kill opponents - there's something deeply satisfying about this game.

* Information based on App Annie statistics from November 2017 - November 2018

Where it all began

Voodoo actually started off as a small team developing and releasing their own games. What originally began as a failed attempt to bring their titles Bool and Quiz Run to market set in motion a journey to hone the process of mobile games publishing. Using what they had learnt – tirelessly optimizing UA and monetization strategies – Voodoo adapted their approach and published Paper.io, which became their first major hit back in 2016.

Paper.io: Voodoo's first major hit - launched in late 2016 and downloaded more than 20 million times
Developers should focus on building games that people around the globe want to play, not just what appeals to them personally.

Speaking on the topic of breaking into games publishing, Hugo Peyron, Publishing Expert at Voodoo, says “it was a case of developing and fine-tuning their knowledge of user acquisition and on extracting value from users, simply in order to survive”. You can find out more about the early days of Voodoo in this interview from 2017.

These first few releases taught Voodoo two things. Firstly, that the most successful publishers need practical experience in many areas of game marketing. Secondly, if they really wanted to make the most of their knowledge of user acquisition and monetization, they would have to apply this to more titles than just their own.

A shift to publishing

Voodoo made the decision to shift their efforts and apply what they’d learnt to the wider market, leveraging their skill set to launch several games at any given time. In order to scale quickly, they wrote a script to scrape the Google Play store, allowing them to quickly compile the details of thousands of studios for outreach campaigns.

Some of Voodoo's earlier hits from 2017: Snake VS Block, Stack Jump and Rolly Vortex (from left to right)

This efficient approach, combined with data collection and analysis using GameAnalytics, helped Voodoo to identify a new game called Fight List (based largely on its promising D1 and D7 KPIs). It quickly became a hit on the App Stores, reaching #1 position in more than 40 countries. The key takeaway here: Voodoo’s game adoption strategy streamlines the development and review process, whilst minimizing the commercial risk of launching several titles.

Identifying core potential

When it comes to predicting the success of a title, simply playing the game is rarely enough. Data is key for recognizing the games with the greatest potential, and Voodoo reviews this data with user-level access to multiple studios at any given time via GameAnalytics. They typically look for D1 retention of 50% or greater.

For us, a key benefit GameAnalytics offers is insights into the retention of studio partners. We look for the highest numbers possible. If a game has low retention, we will kill it.

Around 19/20 games with low retention get set aside, whilst studios with promising numbers and a great concept are given consultation to help improve core gameplay elements. Voodoo has now become a world leader at finding and refining diamonds in the rough, using GameAnalytics to see critical KPIs (and even game error logs).

Tracking an entire portfolio

Once a game has been released, GameAnalytics still plays a role in progress tracking for the entire Voodoo team, with custom integration via the GameAnalytics Rest API that feeds GameAnalytics data into their own proprietary dashboard.

Even more chart toppers from Voodoo: Knock Balls, Paper.io and TwistyRoad (from left to right)

Within this platform, product managers, game designers and even partner developers work together, using GameAnalytics as a way to regularly monitor and optimize the lifecycle of each and every game across their entire portfolio.

A word from Voodoo

"At Voodoo we review hundreds of games each month. Thanks to the data collected with GameAnalytics we’re able to help our partners with upcoming trends, clear creation guidelines, features to increase retention and a unique ideation process."

"One of the great perks of working as a publisher is seeing how the titles of enthusiastic developers can be optimised to make a huge impact on their success. With the many different GameAnalytics SDKs and a custom API integration into our own platform, we can synchronise insights and feedback with our partners and streamline the consultancy process. Using data to make judgements and informed decisions has proved critical to our success."

Avatar

Hugo Peyron

PUBLISHING EXPERT | VOODOO

GameAnalytics browser view

See it in action!

Sometimes you just need to see something in action, so we made a demo with pre-populated data. Give it a try!

  • Completely free
  • Globally trusted
  • Easy to integrate